Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, contests and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

“New Kid” by Jerry Craft just became the first graphic novel to win a Newbery Medal

Here are all the 2020 recipients of Caldecott, Printz, and Newbery honors.

Add to Favorites

Jerry Craft became the first author in the Newbery Medal’s long history to win the Medal for a graphic novel. Craft’s New Kid took home the top honors at the 2020 Youth Media Awards in Philadelphia, while Kadir Nelson won the Caldecott medal for The Undefeated – a book that was also named a Newbery Honor Book. The 2020 Printz Medal went to Dig by A. S. King. 

While El Deafo by Cece Bell and Roller Girls by Victoria Jamieson were named Newbery Honor winners in previous years (2015 and 2016, respectively), this is the first time a graphic novel has taken home the top prize. Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me, a YA graphic novel, also was recognized as a Printz Honor book. 

Here’s the full list of 2020 Printz, Caldecott, and Newbery winners and Honor Books:

2020 Newbery recipients 

"New Kid" by Jerry Craft just became the first graphic novel to win a Newbery Medal AwardWinner: New Kid by Jerry Craft

2020 Newbery Honor Books

  • The Undefeated, written by Kwame Alexander, illustrated by Kadir Nelson
  •  Scary Stories for Young Foxes, written by Christian McKay Heidicker, illustrated by Junyi Wu
  •  Other Words for Home by Jasmine Warga 
  •  Genesis Begins Again by Alicia D. Williams


2020 Caldecott recipients

Winner: The Undefeated, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Kwame Alexander

2020 Caldecott Honor Books:

  • Bear Came Along, illustrated by LeUyen Pham, written by Richard T. Morris
  • Double Bass Blues, illustrated by Rudy Gutierrez, written by Andrea J. Loney
  • Going Down Home with Daddy, illustrated by Daniel Minter, written by Kelly Starling Lyons


Dig by A.S. King is the 2020 Printz Medal winner

2020 Printz recipients

Winner: Dig, written by A. S. King

2020 Printz Honor Books:

  • The Beast Player, written by Nahoko Uehashi, translated by Cathy Hirano
  •  Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me, written by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Rosemary Valero-O’Connell
  • Ordinary Hazards: A Memoir by Nikki Grimes
  • Where the World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean


See the full list of Youth Media awards here.