Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, contests and more!
Start Your Free Trial

This is the 1st of your 3 free articles

Become a member for unlimited website access and more.

FREE TRIAL Available!

Learn More

Already a member? Sign in to continue reading

Meet the 6 authors shortlisted for the 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction

The Women's Prize for Fiction committee released the 2019 shortlist yesterday; the winner will be announced on June 5th.

My Sister, the Serial Killer is one of the six semifinalists for the 2019 Women's Prize for Fiction
Add to Favorites

Ordinary People by Diana Evans

Ordinary People is Diana Evans’ first novel in 10 years, following 2009’s The Wonder and her Orange Award for New Writers-winning debut 26a. Set in 2008, the book stars two South London couples throughout a year of marital crisis. The New Yorker named Ordinary People as one of the best books of the year, explaining that “the book achieves a moody, velvety atmosphere, as though events were unfolding under amber-tinted bulbs. Bracketed by Barack Obama’s electoral victory and Michael Jackson’s overdose, Ordinary People also offers a precise sketch of the British black middle class, with a daring fifth-act twist.”
Check the price on Amazon!

Originally Published