Clive Cussler Adventure Writer’s Competition


Wednesday, July 1, 2015


, , , ,

Entry Fees

$25.00 All fees are used to promote winners and the contest. the Clive Cussler Collector's Society is a non-profit organization.


$1000 cash prize, the Grand Master Award (the "Clive" trophy), a press release announcing the winner to over 1000 media outlets, sessions with industry professionals, including a movie director, literary professors, novel editors, past winners.


Novel Writing Contest Sponsored by the Clive Cussler Collector’s Society Open for Submissions April 1 – July 1, 2015

The 2015 Adventure Writer’s Competition, sponsored by the Clive Cussler Collectors Society ( is now open for submissions! As in the previous four competitions, the book writing contest is for all new novels of the adventure genre. Entries are for full-length novels, and can be unpublished; or e-published, self-published or traditionally published with limited release (see website for details). The contest is open to anyone eighteen years or older from anywhere in the world who meets the entry requirements.

Entries will be accepted beginning April 1 through July 1, 2015 through the competition website. The $1000 cash prize and “Clive” award trophy along with exposure to other published writers, editors and film/literature personalities are to be presented to this year’s winner at the Clive Cussler Collector’s Society Convention held at the Tuscany Resort and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada, October 9 – 11. Two runners up will also receive prizes.

“We have opened the competition to a wider group this year, inviting new and beginning writers to enter novels that may or may not be exactly like a Clive Cussler thrill ride, but still celebrate the spirit of action and adventure,” said Adventure Writer’s Competition Director and past award winner Peter Greene. “We are the only competition that focuses on adventure writing — be it a western, military, spy thriller, or even a classical-styled young adult novel. It’s all adventure!”

Judges for this year’s competition include LA Times Best Selling author Matt Cook (Sabotage), award-winning military thriller writer Jeff Edwards (Sea of Shadows, The Seventh Angel, Sword of Shiva), movie Director Patrick Read Johnson (DragonHeart, Baby’s Day Out), and Andy Sheer (editor of Dirk Cussler’s Poseidon’s Arrow and Havana Storm) to name a few. “Winners will have access to some of these great talents,” said Greene. “More judges and prizes are being added regularly.”

The competition will be judged in two rounds: a synopsis round and a full manuscript round. A modest $25 fee is also required. All fees will go to promoting the winners and advertising the competition. Rules and entry procedures can be found at

Contact Information

Peter Greene, competition director: [email protected]


Post an update for this contest