The Journal/OSU Press Prize


Wednesday, September 30, 2015


Entry Fees

A nonrefundable handling fee of $28.00 will be charged for each entry. Entrants will receive a one-year subscription to The Journal.


In addition to publication under a standard book contract, the winning author receives the Charles B. Wheeler prize of $2500.


Submissions open September 1st for the annual Charles B. Wheeler Prize in Poetry, sponsored by The Journal.

Each year, manuscripts by emerging and established poets are screened, in accordance with CLMP guidelines, by volunteer readers associated with The Journal and OSU. Associate Poetry Editor of OSU Press, Pablo Tanguay, selects semi-finalists and Kathy Fagan, OSU Press Poetry Editor, selects one full-length manuscript of poetry for publication by The Ohio State University Press. This year, the final selection will be made by guest editor Marcus Jackson. See our website for full submission guidelines:

Contact Information

Feel free to contact managing[email protected] or [email protected] with any questions.



Post an update for this contest