Become a member and get exclusive access to articles, contests and more!
Start Your Free Trial

The Goethe Awards ~ Late Historical Fiction Novel Writing Contest ~2019

Contest ending today.


Entry Fees



Prizes to be won:

All First in Category Winning Titles will be placed in the queue to receive a coveted Chanticleer Book Review Package (value $425) and go on to compete for the Goethe Grand Prize
The Goethe Grand Prize Winner is named Chanticleer Reviews Best Late Historical Fiction Book of the Year, and goes on to compete for the Chanticleer Overall Grand Prize Best Book of the Year
The Overall Grand Prize Winner is named Chanticleer Reviews Best Book of the Year, and awarded the $1000 prize
All Winners receive a Chanticleer Prize Package which includes a digital badge, a ribbon and a whole assortment of goodies detailed below (winners outside the US pay a shipping & handling fee)
That's more than $30,000.00 worth of cash and prizes! The Fine Print.

~$1000 for one lucky Overall Grand Prize Winner
~$28,980 in reviews, prizes, and promotional opportunities awarded to Category Winners

Currently accepting entries. Deadline: June 30th, 2019.

What are you waiting for? Enter today!

The Chanticleer Prize Package includes:

A Prize Ribbon to use in promotion at book signings and book festivals
Digital Badges for display on your website or incorporation into book covers
Book stickers to identify your print books to book store shoppers as they browse
In addition to all the ribbons and badges and cash awards we will be showering you with, you will also receive a powerful promotional boost from Chanticleer Reviews


Chanticleer Book Reviews is looking for the best books featuring Late Period Historical Fiction. Regency, Victorian,18th Century, 19th Century, 20th Century, World and other wars, history of non-western cultures, set after the 1750s, we will put them to the test and choose the best among them. (Looking for Chaucer Pre 1750 contest or Laramie Western/Pioneer/Civil War contest?)
The Goethe Awards Categories are:

World/International History (non-western culture historical fiction)
19th Century
20th Century
World and Other Wars
US History
Each work submitted will be judged on the following criteria:

Is the story compelling?
Professionalism of editing and formatting
Continuity of storyline
Satisfying ending (not necessarily “happy”)
Intriguing opening
Uniqueness of story
Writing craft
World construct
Eligibility Requirements:

Novels may be Manuscripts, Self-published, Indie Published or Traditionally Published.
E-pub accepted.
All published novels must have ISBN/ASIN designation, manuscripts are not required to have this designation at the time of submission.
Entries must be in the English language.
No erotica. No graphic violence, please.
Copyrighted works before Dec. 31, 2016 will be disqualified.
Novels must be 60,000 plus words.
You may enter in more than one category. However, each entry must be accompanied by the entry fee.
You may enter more than one novel into a given contest.
Default winners will not be declared. Contests are based on merit and writing craft.
Digital Files must be submitted in PDF or Word DOC format.
Fees and Digital File must be received before June 30th, 2019 midnight.
Please read our Terms and Conditions page aka The Fine Print. Prizes and Award Packages may change without notice.

Contact Information

Sharon Anderson
[email protected]


Post an update for this contest