The Iowa Review Awards


Friday, January 31, 2014


, ,

Entry Fees



$1,500 grand prize plus publication
$750 for runners-up plus publication


Each January since 2003, The Iowa Review has invited submissions to The Iowa Review Awards, a writing contest in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. Judges for the 2014 Iowa Review Awards are Robyn Schiff (poetry), Rachel Kushner (fiction), and David Shields (nonfiction).


Submit up to 25 pages of prose (double-spaced) or 10 pages of poetry (one poem or several, but no more than one poem per page). Work must be previously unpublished. Simultaneous submissions are fine assuming you inform us of acceptance elsewhere.

Judges will select winners from a group of finalists chosen by Iowa Review editors. All manuscripts, whether selected as finalists or not, are considered for publication.

To submit online, visit between January 1 and 31, 2014, and follow the instructions.

To submit via mail, please follow the instructions at

Contact Information

The Iowa Review
[email protected]

302 EPB
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242



Post an update for this contest